What are you looking for?
July 16, 2019

ARC Review: Scars Like Wings by Erin Stewart

arc/book review

Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Expected Publication Date: October 1st, 2019
Genre: YA Contemporary
Add to Goodreads
Buy Links: Kinokuniya Malaysia | MPH Online [will be updating this link when the book is available]
Source: Huge thanks to Pansing for the review copy in exchange for an honest review.
Rating:

Synopsis

Before, I was a million things.
Now I'm only one. The burned girl.

Sixteen-year-old Ava is heading back to school a year after a house fire left her severely disfigured. She's used to the stares, the name-calling, but there's one name she hates most of all. Survivor. Because what do you call someone who didn't mean to survive? Who sometimes wishes she hadn't?

When Ava meets Piper, she begins to feel like maybe she doesn't have to face the nightmare alone. Piper helps Ava reclaim the pieces of Ava Before the fire, the girl who kissed boys and sang on stage. But Piper is fighting her own battle, and Ava must decide if the new "normal" she's chasing has more to do with the girl in the mirror - or the people by her side.

The YA answer to Wonder, this astonishing debut from Erin Stewart is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green.

thoughts


The moment I step into the first page of Scars Like Wings, I know I need to dive into this story and never stop reading it.

"...Courage is being scared to death but saddling up anyway." Erin Stewart, Scars Like Wings.

Ava - the girl who is the only one survives from her house fire but not her parents and her cousin, Sara. Her body was burned and her life was 360-degree change. She moved to live with her uncle and aunt - Sara's parents. It hasn't been any easy for her to face her surroundings, the people's who keeps staring and talking about her. Then, when the doctor suggested her to go back to school to reintegrates her life back to normal, she was disagreed at first, however, decide to go along with the plan with one condition - only two weeks. 

Little did she know, she will meet someone at the support group who is going to feels like her normal life is seeping into her again. That friend name Piper, who is also fighting for her own battle. Survive from a car crashing also has scars on her skins. Also, Ava meets a new friend named Asad. The three of them become close to each other and give full support to each other although, the do facing bumps in the journey of their friendship.

"Shoot for the highest stars, Ava, and you're bound to hit something. But first, you have to shoot." Erin Stewart, Scars Like Wings.

Scars Like Wings is a profound, uplifting, vulnerable and very emotional. It was honestly has blown me away with how realistic the characters are and it captivates me right from the very first page. It was that good that put me in tears. Ava, she is strong, witty and the transformation of her in this book was amazing along with her two friends - Piper and Asad. Their friendships are amazing. I know Ava hates me if I say this but I'm going to say anyway, Ava, she is an inspiration. 

"she conquered her demons and wore her scars like wings." Erin Stewart, Scars Like Wings.

The debut author, Erin Stewart's writing are incredible. Following the journey of the characters who are burned survival has brought me into something I never thought I would. It was different and we get to know how they deal with their day-to-day life. I know I could not fully understand how but through this book, it was an eye-opener. Lessons from this book are be grateful, respect each other and if you do not have any good words to say, then don't. Overall, Scars Like Wings is an amazing, emotional and an interesting read. It's highly recommended for you. 

This will be available in your nearest store in October 2019. Keep an eye for this book!

Add your comment

Subscribe for the latest news

@amazingdistance67