What are you looking for?
April 12, 2021

Slingshot by Mercedes Helnwein

 


Publisher: Macmillan 
Publication Date: April 29th, 2020
Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance
Buy Links: Kinokuniya Malaysia | MPH Online
Add to Goodreads
Source: Thank you Pansing for the review copy in return for an honest review
Rating: 3⭐

Blurbs

An exciting debut contemporary young adult novel perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Mary H. K. Choi

Grace Welles had resigned herself to the particular loneliness of being fifteen and stuck at a third-tier boarding school in the swamps of Florida, when she accidentally saves the new kid in her class from being beat up. With a single aim of a slingshot, the monotonous mathematics of her life are obliterated forever…because now there is this boy she never asked for. Wade Scholfield.

With Wade, Grace discovers a new way to exist. School rules are optional, life is bizarrely perfect, and conversations about wormholes can lead to make-out sessions that disrupt any logical stream of thoughts.

So why does Grace crush Wade’s heart into a million tiny pieces? And what are her options when she finally realizes that 1. The universe doesn’t revolve around her, and 2. Wade has been hiding a dark secret. Is Grace the only person unhinged enough to save him?

Acidly funny and compulsively readable, Mercedes Helnwein’s debut novel Slingshot is a story about two people finding each other and then screwing it all up. See also: soulmate, friendship, stupidity, sex, bad poetry, and all the indignities of being in love for the first time.
 


The first moment I step into this book I was annoyed. Like truly annoyed. Because Gracie was so obsessed with her teacher and when the teacher introduce to Gracie his fiancée, she suddenly become angry. Throwing some disrespect words which quickly turn me off. However, I do understand that this book portraying an absolute raw, honest personality of this young 15 years old girl though it does not allow her to act the way she did. It irks me in some way.

What attracts me to continue my read of this book is how you perceived the meaning of the 'slingshot'. I, honestly want to stop halfway reading the book but I felt that I need to know more about it. Hence, I decide to continue. Despite, the first half annoyed me a lot, I think it grabs my attention toward the second half. Gracie starts to realize what she did and wants to improve herself for the better. All in all, it was a quite an okay-okay read for me. 




Add your comment

Subscribe for the latest news

IG: @amazingdistance67