How To Fake It In Hollywood by Ava Wilder | Book Review

 

How To Fake It In Hollywood by Ava Wilder

How To Fake It In Hollywood by Ava Wilder
Publisher: Dell
Publication Date: June 14th, 2022
Genre: Romance
Add to Goodreads
Source: Thank you Times Read fort he review copy in return for an honest review
Rating: 3⭐

 
Blurb

A talented Hollywood starlet and a reclusive A-lister enter into a fake relationship . . . and discover that their feelings might be more than a PR stunt in this sexy debut for fans of Beach Read and The Unhoneymooners.

Grey Brooks is on a mission to keep her career afloat now that the end of her long-running teen soap has her (unsuccessfully) pounding the pavement again. With a life-changing role on the line, she's finally desperate enough to agree to her publicist's scheme... faking a love affair with a disgraced Hollywood heartthrob who needs the publicity, but for very different reasons.

Ethan Atkins just wants to be left alone. Between his high-profile divorce, his struggles with drinking, and his grief over the death of his longtime creative partner and best friend, he's slowly let himself fade into the background. But if he ever wants to produce the last movie he and his partner wrote together, Ethan needs to clean up his reputation and step back into the spotlight. A gossip-inducing affair with a gorgeous actress might be just the ticket, even if it's the last thing he wants to do.

Though their juicy public relationship is less than perfect behind the scenes, it doesn't take long before Grey and Ethan's sizzling chemistry starts to feel like more than just an act. But after decades in a ruthless industry that requires bulletproof emotional armor to survive, are they too used to faking it to open themselves up to the real thing?
 

Review

I was enchanted by the book cover, and reading the blurb has convinced me to read it. Knowing that it has a fake relationship trope makes me even more excited to jump into the story. The story follows two celebrities, Grey and Ethan, who have to be in a fake relationship in order to keep their careers afloat in Hollywood. They both agreed with the publicist's scheme. But falling in love is not on that mission.

The story is not a light read because it plays around with lots of important matters that happened in their lives and how they should resolve them. Honestly speaking, I thought this was going to be fun and a light read, but it wasn't. I almost gave up in the first three chapters. I'm torn between continuing the story and abandoning it. Although it has a slow start, as the story goes by, the pace starts to pick up. It took me about 2 weeks to finish this book. I love Grey's character. She is very honest with how she feels and speaks from her heart. While Ethan is difficult to get along with and sometimes quite confusing, in all honesty, I couldn't get the chemistry with either of them. I think it was a bit too fast to fall in love.

There's a lot of drama going on in the story. I'm hoping there's more character development and more communication between the two characters. I'm having a hard time getting engaged with the story itself. It is not that bad. It is still a well-written story. What I have been thinking is, is it love or lust? I don't know. I might be even more dramatic than the two main characters. All in all, I do like the story and I do enjoy reading it, but I think there are unspeakable, unsettled things between the two of them. I wish there were more.


0 comments